The missing person

While we are not a close-knit family, social media has erased many boundaries. So while I have not attended my cousin’s wedding, I get to glance through her photos and relive the experience.

One photo that stayed with me was a photo of my cousin sister and her dad. She lost her mom as well a few years back and is a single child like me. She looks similar to me, in a way which I am not used to and find hard to accept.

There is also something achingly sad about the photo, about a wedding where only a father and daughter are there, and the mother is missing on this happy occasion. A mother who never gets to see her daughter as a bride or to gift her jewels for her wedding. The loneliness in the air is all the more poignant. And I can’t help thinking of dad and me in a similar situation.

Leave a Reply

