Paradise at home

What’s an adequate time to grieve, I wonder. Some say a year is a benchmark, some say even decades are not enough. To each his own. The mind has a will of its own. My dad lost his parents more than a decade ago. He still wakes up thinking he is among them.

On my part I also wake up every day, hoping against hope, believing that mom is still around…that I will stumble upon her watching TV in the living room, early in the morning, like she used to. That seems like a good enough definition of a paradise to me now. Funny how the smallest things are the ones you tend to miss the most.

Leave a Reply

