The little joys of summer

They are putting up a shed on the adjoining building’s terrace. Very soon the slice of sky I had will no longer be visible. I will miss the orange, purple and deep blue skies.

This whole summer has been tough for me. Summers were when I spent time with mom, we went buying books and observed the skies. The time we enjoyed twilight. Today for the first time I saw a twilight without my mom. It’s the start of many I am guessing.

Today dad is sad as well, he also faced the realisation that whom we consider friends are not our friends after all. A truth that hurts irrespective of age.

Summers were also the tone of fun fairs. And sugarcane juice. All from the shelves of childhood, now relegated there.

Sometimes some pains are such that even reading a book doesn’t make them go away.

image

Leave a Reply

